The Emir of Kano, Muhammadu Sanusi II, has lost control of 34 out of 44 local government areas in the state.

This development followed the splitting of the Kano emirate by the State Assembly and the law signed by Governor Abdullahi Ganduje on May 8.

The state now has five emirates namely; Kano, Rano, Gaya, Karaye and Bichi. All Emirs would have equal powers and are to be on same first class status as Sanusi.

The Emir of Bichi is Aminu Ado Bayero, son of late emir of Kano, Ado Bayero, with 9 local government areas under his jurisdiction.

Others are the Emir of Gaya, Alhaji Ibrahim Abdulkadir Gaya, with 8 local governments under him, the Emir of Rano, Alhaji Tafida Abubakar Ila, with 10 local governments reporting to him, the Emir of Karaye, Dr. Alhaji Ibrahim Abukakar II, having 7 local governments while the Emir of Kano remains Sanusi, with 10 local governments under him.


Sylvester is an event manager and decorator. He is a trained extension agent and a development communicator, a freelance writer, drama minister and pastor.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *