Ahead of the 2023 presidential election, the apex Igbo socio-cultural organization, Ohanaeze Ndigbo, has argued politicians from the zone, interested in aspiring for the office of the president, on what actions they should be taken.

In a statement by its deputy national publicity secretary, Chucks Ibegbu, the group called on politicians in the zone, to immediately commence preparation by reaching out to other political blocs and groups in the country if they want to succeed President Muhammadu Buhari.

Ohanaeze pointed out that it was fair and just for a shift in power to the South East after the North ends its ruling in 2023, adding that any other zone aspiring to rule the nation after the North should have a rethink for the interest of the nation.

“We call on all Presidential materials in Igbo land to begin early enough to build networks with political blocs, groups and individuals in other zones of the country in preparation for future political permutations.

“But power is not just given. Contenders have to move out on time. Our call for any other political entity from any other zone aspiring to rule the nation after the North to think twice is in the interest of the nation. We are asking all political parties in Nigeria to zone their Presidency to the South-East zone at the appropriate time,” he, Ohanaeze said.

The Igbo group went further to say that a Nigerian president from its zone would tackle the country’s developmental problems, as well as ensure the country realised its potentials in no small measure.

The South East, one of the major ethnic groups in Nigeria, has continued to clamour for an opportunity to lead the country.

The people’s hope of actualising this in 2023 may be a difficult task, especially if they hope to ride on the platform of the governing All Progressives Congress (APC).

Based on the position of some APC members, even from the South East, that the zone does not deserve much from the governing party, having voted against the party both in 2015, and the last general elections in 2019.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *