Disturbed that some of its lawmakers did not vote according to its laid down instruction during the principal officers of the 9th National Assembly election, the National Working Committee (NWC) of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has set up a fact-finding committee.

Kola Ologbondiyan, the party’s national publicity secretary, in a statement released said that the committee has the mandate to among others:

“Find out why some of our Honorable members and senators-elect then, failed to abide by the decision of the party during the National Assembly leadership election;

“To find out whether there is any involvement of the ruling party in the decision taken by the members involved;

“Where there are established reasons for taking the action by members, the committee should identify such so that the party can create mutual and political atmosphere for reasonable interaction with senators and honourable members;

“To find out and recommend ways to checkmate such tendencies in the future and ensure that, moving forward, all members work together to defend the interest of the party at all times and circumstances.”

According to Ologbondiyan, three weeks was given to from the date of its to report to the NWC.

The committee is made up of the former President of the Senate, Senator Adolphus Wabara as chairman while its former national secretary, Professor Wale Oladipo serving as secretary.

Other committee members include; Senator Stella Omu, Senator Ibrahim Mantu Senator Abdul Ningi, , Hon Austin Opara, Hon (Mrs) Margaret Icheen, among others.

The opposition party PDP had asked its lawmakers to vote for Senator Ali Ndume and Umar Bago as Senate President and House of Representatives Speaker respectively.

However, APC’s candidates, Senator Ahmed Lawan and Hon Femi Gbajabiamila won the position.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *